Australia, UK, and US ink pact for delivery of nuclear submarines

To augment the trilateral security partnership known as "AUKUS", Australia, the United States and the United Kingdom have been involved in an 18-month discussion period. Reportedly, the three countries will discover a suitable pathway for delivering nuclear-powered submarines, as is claimed by Joe Biden, United States President, in a White House statement recently.

Under the agreement, Naval Nuclear Propulsion Information will be exchanged among the three countries, empowering parties to transfer and exchange Naval Nuclear Momentum Information and deliver sanctions to share certain Restricted Data.

The AUKUS partnership will inspire deeper security and incorporation of defense-related technology, science, supply chain and industrial bases.

It intends to better defend and protect the combined interests of the three countries in the Indo-Pacific region and reinforce the combined review commitment.

As per the recent statement issued by Joe Biden, the improved trilateral security partnership called "AUKUS" was announced earlier this year. The three governments will be engaging in a consultation period of around 18 months for finding an ideal pathway for nuclear-powered submarines delivery for the Royal Australian Navy at the earliest achievable date.

Moreover, the agreement would empower the three countries to discuss and exchange Naval Nuclear Propulsion Info. It would offer authorization to share some restricted data as may be required during the trilateral discussions, thus qualifying full and effective consultations.

It was also notified that the agreement, which takes place between the US, Australia, and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (the UK), has already met the statutory requirements.

Speculations have it that Australia and the United Kingdom are constructing material and substantial contributions to the mutual security and defense by partnering with the United States according to international arrangements.

For the uninitiated, Australia is a participant in Australia, New Zealand, and the United States Security Treaty and the United Kingdom is a participant in the North Atlantic Treaty.

Source Credit -

By Shreya Bhute

With corporate exposure in software and marketing, Shreya was always intrigued by content development. Having pursued her graduation in I.T. engineering, she works as a content writer for and jots down news articles across distinct domains including technology, business and healthcare.